Upcoming Events

Learn more about events with QVS and register below.

QVS 2nd Annual Supporters’ Briefing

THURSDAY, JUNE 17 | 7pm ET

Join us for our 2nd Annual Supporters’ Briefing. Gather with us to hear stories of impact from QVS Fellows, alumni, and partnered Friends. QVS board members will also share about the numbers that make up QVS and what those numbers mean! 

Come get a behind the scenes look into our little corner of the world. We’ll give you a glimpse into where our heads are, what hurdles we’re facing at the moment, and how our plans are shifting and evolving. 

There will be some small group worship sharing time, followed by an open Q&A to talk about finances, alumni engagement, recruitment, our values — no topic is off limits! Have a burning question for us? Let us know when you register here.

You can register for this event up until the start time.

Defund the Police? A 9-Week Abolition Workshop Series

MONDAYS at 8pm ET | JUN 4 – AUG 16 (week off on JUL 5)

All are welcome as we collaboratively facilitate the 9-week program titled “Defund the Police? An Abolition Curriculum” shared with us by the Mennonite Church U.S.A. We will meet for 90 minute Zoom sessions Mondays at 8pm EDT/7pm CDT/5pm PDT from June 4- August 16 with a week off on July 5.

This faith-based curriculum includes Christ-centered narratives; however, facilitators (Carol Anne and Zenaida so far) aim to guide the conversation to be as accessible to all Friends as possible. If using Bible stories is going to be a barrier for your participation, we encourage you to explore the curriculum to discern if this is the right abolition program for you.

Interested but this isn’t a good time for you? Let us know here on our interest form: http://bit.ly/abolition-future

If you have any questions you can reach out the the facilitators at [email protected] or [email protected]

Join Carol Anne Ferlauto (Alumni Engagement Coordinator) at the 2021 FGC Gathering!

SATURDAY, JULY 3 | Three 90-minute sessions

Workshop 301: Class & Status in OUR Egalitarian Religious Society
Despite our egalitarian structure, classism and “status-ism” prevail among Friends. This interactive workshop will emphasize cultural differences connected to class, status, and educational background. Reflect, explore, and discuss often misunderstood class differences. Re-envision our communities to be more inclusive, and co-create rough blueprints for the renovations!

Early registration for the FGC Gathering is open from April 15 through 29.  Standard registration starts May 6, and workshops will be available on a first-come, first-served basis. Carol Anne’s workshop number is 301.

Past Events

QVS Worship with Attention to Memorial

TUESDAY, MARCH 23RD | 11:30AM ET

The 23rd of March marked the one year anniversary of QVS starting community worships in response to widespread shut-downs in the United States. We held a special memorial meeting for worship with attention to the lives that have been lost and forever changed due to the pandemic.

QVS will continue hosting 30 minute weekday worship at 11:30am ET / 10:30am CT / 8:30am PT (plus 10 minutes for hellos at the end of the hour). Please email us to request the zoom link.

Stories of Service: QVS Alumni Panel

SUNDAY, MARCH 7TH | 4-5:30PM ET

The Philadelphia Quaker Voluntary Service Local Support Committee hosted a special QVS Alumni Panel on March 7th from 4-5:30pm. The panel featured four young adults who served in QVS and currently live and work in the Philadelphia area. Panelists shared about the transformational experience of QVS, and how they are engaged in spiritually-grounded service and community today. Alumni panelists included: Olivia Chalkley, Paloma Collazo-Vargas, Andrew Huff, and Máire Moriarty. 

Interested in partnering with QVS to host an event? Reach out to us using the contact form below.

Pin It on Pinterest